Brazilian violinist Pedro Maia is versatile artist who is very passionate about chamber music and teaching. He has played in some of the most prestigious venues throughout Asia, Europe, South America, and North America including Weill Hall at Carnegie, Sala São Paulo, and Seoul National Theater. Recently Pedro made his Mexican debut soloing the Four Seasons by Piazzolla with the Orquesta Filarmonica Tlaxcalan.

A dynamic chamber musician, Pedro is a founding member of Cosmos New Music ensemble, which had their Carnegie Hall debut at Weill Hall in 2018 performing works from composers around the world, including a premiers of Thai composer Narang Prangcharoen, and Israeli composer Roee Ben Sira. He is also a founding member of Trio Riva which had its debut in the Palazzo Ducale di Urbino in Italy. Trio Riva have collaborated and been commissioned to premier and record works by female composers such as Ellen Taffee Zwilich, Liliya Ugay, and Eunseon Yu.

As an orchestral musician Pedro is currently a member of the Iris Orchestra and has played with the Tallahassee Symphony Orchestra and the Mobile Symphony Orchestra. Pedro has performed with some of the leading conductors in the world including Paul Tortelier, Ira Levin, Kurt Mazur, and Emil Tabakov. His orchestral and chamber music engagements have led him to collaborate with artists such as Shlomo Mintzs, Itzhak Perlman, Yo-Yo Ma, Albrecht Mayer, Giles Apap, among others.

An active pedagogue as well, Pedro has been faculty in festivals and taught in schools in Brazil, Chile, Colombia, USA, and Mexico. Pedro is the founder of the Tallahassee Youth Orchestra Camerata, group which he was the artistic director and conductor, and he is the creator of the Tallahassee Winter Chamber Music Festival- a two-week long chamber music festival for pre-college students.

Pedro holds a bachelor's degree in violin performance from the University of Southern Mississippi and a master's and a doctoral degree in violin performance from Florida State University. His principal teachers have included Erich Lehninger, Katia Andrade, Nadia Nedialkova, Stephen Redfield, and Shannon Thomas.